Welcome to New President: Councillor Claire Detheridge, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

Claire Detheridge is a municipal councillor with the Cape Breton Regional Municipality. First elected in 1982, she recently completed her 33rd year in municipal office.

Claire has served on all major committees of CBRM Council, including two terms as Deputy Mayor. She has served as chair of the NS Police Boards, has been on the RRFB Board since 2010.

For a number of years she was a member of the Library Boards Association of NS and has served as Chair of the Cape Breton Regional Library Board.

Claire has served on the UNSM Board of Directors for six years. During this time she has served as Regional Caucus Chair, Regional Caucus Representative, Vice President, and now President. She has also served as the Chair of the Resolutions Committee and Chair of the Fall Conference Planning Committee for 2015.

In her role as Vice President, she served on the Fiscal Review Committee, attended all Round Table discussions with provincial ministers, and has been involved with issues such as the Capped Assessment Program (CAP) and the Property Tax Review Study.

Claire is passionate about the important role municipalities play in making Nova Scotia a healthier, more welcoming place to live, work and play.

Claire believes the oneNS Report will play a large role in helping the province grow.