Provincial Issues--December 2016

Municipal Advisors

Below are the names and corresponding territories of the four Municipal Advisors employed through the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Municipal Advisor Responsible for all Towns and Rural Municipalities within the Following Territory:
Ahmad Shahwan Clare, Yarmouth, Argyle, Barrington, Shelburne, Region of Queens, Lunenburg, Chester

Emily Pond

Colchester, Pictou, Antigonish, Guysborough, Inverness, Victoria, Richmond

Ron Dauphinee

Digby, Annapolis, Kings, West Hants, East Hants, Cumberland

Shannon Bennett

Halifax Regional Municipality, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

The Municipal Advisor acts as a liaison between the Department and municipalities. The Advisor provides advice to municipalities in the areas of budgeting, finance, accounting, auditing, administration and management. In performing these duties, the Advisor works closely with senior municipal administrators and municipal elected officials as well as providing advice to the Department on matters relating to municipal government. In addition, the incumbent provides advice to the Department on municipal financial status. They participate in the formulation, implementation and administration of provincial programs and policies dealing with municipalities as well as participates in the development of legislation. The Advisor is called upon to deal with complex municipal issues such as restructuring, sustainability and governance.