Long Service Awards Program


The UNSM Long Service Awards Program offers recognition beginning with those who have served on Council for a minimum of 10 years.  The Awards categories are:

  • 10 or more years of service
  • 15 or more years of service
  • 20 or more years of service
  • 25 or more years of service
  • 30 or more years of service
  • 35 or more years of service
  • 40 or more years of service

An Award will only be presented once in each category.  

Eligible individuals should apply for the award which reflects their current years of municipal service.  All awards will be presented at the Opening Session of the Annual Conference.  For 2016, this date is Wednesday, November 30th, 2016.

FOR MUNICIPAL ELECTION YEAR 2016:  Some of you may decide not to run in the upcoming municipal election, and some are concerned they may not be re-elected.  If you qualify for an Award Level as of October 2016, you should apply to receive a Long Service Award.  You can accept the Award at the Conference (the morning of November 30th) or it will be couriered to you or the Municipal Unit, as Council may want to present your Award to you at a Council Meeting.

While you can submit at any time in the year, the Award won't be presented until the Annual Conference.

2016 DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING FORMS:  Friday, September 30th, 2016.

Click here for your 2016 Long Service Award Form.

Have questions?

Contact:  Tracy Verbeke, Secretary/Receptionist
(902) 423-8331